Friedrich-Alexander-Universität Erlangen-Nürnberg

Board of Directors


Prof. Dr.-Ing. Michael Schmidt

Lehrstuhl für Photonische Technologien


Prof. Dr.-Ing. Stefan Will

Lehrstuhl für Technische Thermodynamik

Director of Administration

Dr. rer. nat. Johannes Knorr

SAOT Erlangen Graduate School in Advanced Optical Technologies




SAOT provides an interdisciplinary research and education program of excellence within a broad international network of distinguished experts to promote innovation and leadership in the areas

Optical Metrology
Optical Material Processing
Optics in Medicine
Optics in Communication and Information Technology
Optical Materials and Systems
and Computational Optics.