Friedrich-Alexander-Universität Erlangen-Nürnberg

External Advisory Board

External Advisory Board

Prof. R. Bammer, Radiological Sciences Laboratory, School of Medicine, Stanford University, USA (since 2011)

Dr. A. Gladisch, Field Manager “Broadband Network Architecture and Economics”, Deutsche Telekom T-Labs, Berlin, Germany (since 2011)

Prof. Dr.-Ing. W. Jüptner, Founder and former Head of the Bremen Institute of Applied Beam Technology (BIAS) & Chair Professor University of Aberdeen, Scotland, UK (temporary appointment) (since 2006)

Mr. K. Löffler, Manager International Sales Laser Systems, Trumpf Laser- und Systemtechnik GmbH, Ditzingen, Germany (since 2011)

Prof. Dr.-Ing. A. Ostendorf, Chair Professor Institute of Laser Applications Technology, Ruhr-University Bochum, Germany (since 2011)

Prof. Dr. J. Popp, Scientific Director Institute of Photonic Technology (IPhT), Jena & Chair Professor Institute of Physical Chemistry, University of Jena, Germany (since 2011)

Mr. M. Reindl, Founder and former Chairman of the Board of Executive Officers (CEO) WaveLight  Laser Technology AG, Erlangen, Germany (since 2006)

Prof. Dr. R. Reinhardt, former Chairman of the Board of Executive Officers (CEO), Siemens Medical Solutions AG, Erlangen & President Medical Valley European Metropolitan Region Nuremberg (EMN), Erlangen, Germany (since 2006)

Prof. em. Dr.-Ing. Dr.-Ing. E.h. mult. H.K. Tönshoff,  Founder and former Chairman Laser Center Hannover, Germany (from 2006 till 2012)

Prof. Dr. Dr. H.-F. Zeilhofer, Director and Chair Professor Clinic of Oral and Maxillofacial Surgery, University Hospital Basel, Switzerland (since 2006)



SAOT provides an interdisciplinary research and education program of excellence within a broad international network of distinguished experts to promote innovation and leadership in the areas

Optical Metrology
Optical Material Processing
Optics in Medicine
Optics in Communication and Information Technology
Optical Materials and Systems
and Computational Optics.